Grateful: perspective and appreciation

This has been a puzzling week. Painful. And I’m trying not to read too much into the consequences of this diagram drawn by my doctor, trying hard not to dread what has not yet affected me permanently. Yet.

2014-03-01 12.29.12

That’s a picture of my knee, which suddenly puffed up last week. The swelling was paired with excruciating pains, especially after sitting still. Walking helped, and cycling, after some painful beginning minutes each time. I worried and fussed and researched and came to my own conclusions, and called the doctor when it just kept getting worse. His conclusions are mine. This is likely the onset of arthritis. It comes as no surprise, really, since I know I have it in various joints. The suddenness and severity of its arrival does come as a surprise, and it’s upsetting to me. Remember last year? I was kind of stuck. It was a really rough go, and I came out the other side. Now I’m ready to have my feet and legs to myself. Really, I am.

I started to write a thoughtful post about putting this into perspective, and how other people have it worse, and how there’s beauty in everything. That is all true. But instead of digging deeper into this process right now, I’ll just share this picture of a kite that was so big and flying so high that we saw it from all the way across the marina yesterday and had to go check it out. Was it 12 feet across at its widest? Hard to say. It was huge and glorious.

2014-02-28 17.27.36

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations, reading, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

