Grateful still: for all the things

So many things I’ve snapped photos of in the past week or two, tiny moments, large wonders, magical things and simple things. They are all one, after all. All part and parcel of my gratefulness.

While visiting my mother in law, I also got to spend lovely time with our nephew, of course, who lives with her – when he wasn’t at work, we chatted books and art and design. And he took me to Voodoo Doughnut. This, if you’ve never heard of it before, is not just a doughnut place. It is an experience.

2014-02-20 00.01.00

We went late one evening, during a welcome break in the rain, and decided to walk from Lloyd Center over the bridge to downtown Portland. Over the bridge! I think it must have been the Steel Bridge, as the closest one to where we were parked was not accessible to foot traffic. But I wasn’t paying attention to a map at the time. We were simply having fun, walking over the Willamette River in the dark.

2014-02-19 22.03.05

We found a fascinating crowd there, lined up down the street outside the joint. This felt like a fairly diverse cross-section of humanity, though I guess there were one or two factions missing. More on that in a moment.

The aromas were fascinating, too, warm sweet doughnut scent mixed with… burning sometimes medicinal plant materials and, well, other stuff. I just took it all in.

I won’t go into too much more detail about Voodoo Doughnut.  You can read about it on their website, and I’ll leave the rest up to your imagination.

2014-02-19 22.21.51

Here is a fuzzy picture of their sign, snapped as we stood in line. It took several tries to get even this shot. Interesting to capture neon at night on the phone camera. Grateful I got to spend some time looking at it and experiencing the atmosphere surrounding this fascinating place. That is the main thing.

I will say that we got the most amazing selection of doughnuts, though, several varieties, which took us two days to finish.

2014-02-20 00.01.52

As we walked away, I commented that maybe not many of his aunts would have chosen a field trip of this sort, and my nephew began to laugh.

“You’re the only one, Aunt Valerie. All the others might offer to wait in the car for me while I picked out any kind of doughnuts, all by myself!” That’s a compliment, that I got to share not only the doughnuts but the experience.

I’m also honored that the same nephew spent 4 hours waiting with me at the train station on my way home from my visit. Next time I might insist that he not bother, but it was certainly another interesting experience, and he is my hero for spending the time.

I captured these sunset pictures across the (sadly empty) train tracks.

2014-02-22 17.41.07

Each half hour brought more color and interest to the sky.

2014-02-22 17.55.18 2014-02-22 17.51.56

Spectacular inspiration.

2014-02-22 17.55.25

Oh, look! The railroad bridge is open! Again! Maybe that is why there is STILL NO TRAIN (it was also experiencing mechanical difficulties).

2014-02-22 18.00.44

The factory lights across the way were lovely in the dusk. And finally, my train came. Grateful.

When I go home, new art supplies.  You already know how I feel about that.

2014-02-23 19.43.50

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

