Today’s gratitude in two shots: kids and books

I am always grateful to come across moments like these. It somehow validates my work, what I’ve done to bring children and books together, but it’s more than that. It brings me deep joy to see, because this was surely me, when I was in third grade.

2014-01-14 10.36.47

Then there is the gratitude in beginning a new journey with kids. We made the signs and put the first books on the third grade reading life wall today: all the books they read (and that we share as a class) between now and the end of school go here.

2014-01-14 11.05.14

Once a month I’ll take their favorites and print color covers to add to the wall. At the end of the school year, they will take their own reading lives home with them. That is a sweet thought.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, classes, collaboration, inspirations, reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

