Some Gaming gratitude: Minecraft

What?!? Don’t I spend all my time reading and writing and doing library things? Well, mostly. And I have to admit I’ve not visited my Minecraft home much lately, but I do love to play.

Today’s grateful is about conversations and how they lead to books and how those lead us back to more conversations. You know, that magical thing. It isn’t a magical book in my photo, necessarily. It was a magical conversation which led to the careful choice of it, with the help of a young student, before our book fair.

2014-01-07 11.23.30

It was magical because we made a connection. His passion for Minecraft was something I could understand, and as an adult who actually plays, I have some serious cred on our campus. Our conversations ended with our collaborating to choose two different Minecraft books for the library. They are not currently on my shelves right now (of course).

But herein lies this week’s gratitude: two different young men in two different classes waited patiently in line for their turn at the checkout desk. Neither had a book (they’d both read our new ones). I asked them how I could help them today.

Both replied the same way: “I want to talk about Minecraft.”

One stood, rocking from one foot to the other while we talked, off to the side a bit, and another student joined us as we finished our time as a happy circle. The other young man did not hesitate. He pulled up a chair and parked himself for a satisfying conversation about a subject near and dear to him.

I’m grateful for the connections I’ve been able to make with students. And for Minecraft, which is not only pretty darned fun, but which gives us a true common ground.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, classes, collaboration, inspirations, reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

