Today’s Grateful: a birthday and some new friends

I had a photo from my library all lined up as my grateful picture, but then something else wonderful happened, and I am just too excited to put off sharing. My gratefulness has everything to do with this book, and its birthday, which was yesterday. What a delightful party I got to attend!

2014-01-07 21.02.21

My gratefulness is not only because I got to go to a fun party, but because the woman with me in this picture

2014-01-07 19.59.15 is one of the most gracious, caring folks I’ve ever met, and she found someone to give me, a person she had never met, a ride to her own book launch!

Crazy wonderful that we got to connect on Twitter, and Facebook, and then in person. What a lovely evening it was, Elizabeth Rose Stanton, and what a lovely character you created in our new friend Henny! Gratefulness abounds in the connections I made last night.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, collaboration, inspirations, reading, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Today’s Grateful: a birthday and some new friends

  1. I think our cosmic planets aligned somehow, Valerie. My mantra before Henny’s launch was “grateful” — and here you are! This little quirky chicken of mine has connected me with some of the most wonderful people– and here’s the proof of it– Valerie with the big, beautiful smile. Thank you!

    • vst3in says:

      I was telling my family that I rarely see a photo of me which doesn’t make me cringe, when grabbed on the fly like these. Every one is happy here. These planets aligned, indeed. And my smile is real and true. And now you are following my blog! Honored. Henny has brought joy. So looking forward to sharing her with kids next week.

  2. I didn’t realize Elizabeth was the one who found you a ride! How wonderful! SUCH a great picture!

Leave a Reply

