Choosing gratitude: an attempt at daily thankfulness

I saw this thing on New Year’s Day. Someone posted a short video on Facebook or Twitter or wherever. I watched it, though often I don’t watch what others share – there are so many videos out there, and there is so little time.

I’ve been looking for a ritual, a physical, intentional routine, a way to start my days in writing and in living, in choosing to reach out and grab what is the beauty in this life that’s been gifted me. In November, I found real power in working at posting daily inspirations. The choosing of an object, of taking the time to capture an image of it and write about it was very inspiring. I’ve been wondering how to continue that. I’m sure there will be more historical, archaeological inspiration posted here, moving forward. But this video caught my eye. Actually, the word grateful in the title caught my eye, and I watched it.

I don’t believe I can post a picture and a thought on my blog every single day. That is not what I’m proposing to do. But I can make an effort to be mindful every single day, and I can take a picture. I can reflect on each and make an effort to choose gratitude in what I find there. Sometimes, I can share them.

Here’s yesterday’s photo.

2014-01-01 12.40.15

We  took our first walk of the new year, nearly 4 miles in our favorite place, along the waterfront at Everett Marina. This statue is part of the Fisherman’s Tribute Plaza, and I love to look at it. Yesterday’s encounter, with a cozy red scarf to keep the fisherman warm, delighted me.

So there is gratitude, captured, from the first day of 2014. May you have many moments of gratitude in the coming months.  I look forward to sharing with you.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

