If you aim at nothing

Well, I clearly don’t need to write my NaNoWriMo post. Gwen wrote it for me. I DID win this year – but what I learned is exactly what she learned. It’s about the push, and what comes when you sit down and do the work. Thanks, Gwen.

Gwen Hernandez

“If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time.”
~ Zig Ziglar

Aims.I didn’t win NaNoWriMo (again) this year.

I’m okay with that.

The first two years I participated in National Novel Writing Month—2010 and 2011—I won. It wasn’t easy by any stretch, but I managed it.

The last two times I attempted NaNo were a different story. In both cases, I was in the middle of editing another manuscript while trying to work on my 50K. It was probably unrealistic of me to expect that I even had a chance when I wasn’t going to be able to devote myself more fully to writing. So why bother?

Because it’s not really about the 50K for me, it’s about the push.

Sure, I didn’t make my goal, but I still wrote 37,735 words! I accomplished that even though I only wrote on 20 of the available 30 days…

View original post 422 more words

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If you aim at nothing

  1. LOL, happy to save you the trouble. 😉 Congrats on your win!!

Leave a Reply

