NaNo Day twenty nine inspiration: Thanksgiving and Pumpkins

20131106_064616

Yesterday was Thanksgiving. I had planned to post one of Kate’s cards that day, this one sent to her by a friend or family member to celebrate the same day so many years ago.

That did not happen, since we arose at 4:45 and left home around 6 to hit the road before the traffic set in. That trip was followed by the flurry in the kitchen that is Thanksgiving at the family home, with all sorts of food and personalities gathered to prepare the meal. The result was a lovely dinner, for which all eleven of us in attendance were very grateful.

Today, we’re still grateful, the nine who remain to share and enjoy each other for a while longer. Life gets busy and this day, the day after, home and lazy and just hanging out together, is the best time ever because we’ve determined to put busy on hold. Later we’ll pull out some leftovers from last night. We’ll munch. We’ll chat. We’ll enjoy.

What did Kate do on Thanksgiving? Did her family gather? When she was far from home, there was the difficulty of travel conditions, so I imagine that the privilege of getting home for each holiday especially in winter could not be counted on. I can see her gathering with her little family in Almira, Mother Ina and Sam, and her room mates Edna and Clara, though. This has become a real world to me. This is a real family. I’ve already written about their Christmas together, but maybe now I need to write their Thanksgiving as well, when they have known each other for just a couple of months, when maybe Kate is feeling most homesick for the kids in the family, for her own mother.

What is on the table? Where did they get the turkey? Are they eating pies made from Sam’s pumpkins? Most definitely. Sam’s pumpkin garden is very vivid to me:

Sam pushed the wheelbarrow away from the garden, Kate walking alongside. They paused at Mrs. Wyatt’s back porch and he hefted two of the beautiful pumpkins out onto it, then turned and lifted the wheelbarrow handles again.

“I thought to have each of you young ladies take a pumpkin to school for the kids in your room,” he offered her as they turned to head for Kate’s, “you all can make your choice and I’ll put them straight into the car for Monday morning, if you like.”

I can see them there, these three young women in 1916, each one making her choice to delight her students. Simple. Special.

Did something simple and special touch you this Thanksgiving?

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

