NaNo Day Twenty-two inspiration: Kids, books and generosity

I’ve been sharing what inspires me this month on the blog. I’m writing more on the historical novel I’m working on, inspired by NaNoWriMo  to commit to spending more time with the words. I’m focused on building the layers of the story deeper, and cheering others on to tell their stories, too, this month and beyond. It’s been deeply satisfying to dig in, to grab moments to write, to find that I can write many words in a day, thoughtfully and productively.

Today, though, I want to share my current inspiration, which isn’t an antique from Kate’s things. You won’t be too surprised to find that it’s books. Books for kids, in particular. This weekend is our school’s book fair.

We’re excited. We’ve been talking about why books are important to us in our community, and I’m inviting everyone who comes to to the fair to add their thoughts to our book.

2013-11-22 13.54.24

We also have author Suzanne Williams coming to join us. We have a wish list of books that families may purchase to donate to the school if they feel so moved, and that’s always exciting, because I get to wander the store filling a cart with the books students and teachers have asked for. And families and teachers are very generous. I have the best big load of work afterward, as a result of their generosity, cataloging all that treasure into the library.

But something different happened this year. A parent has already made a wish list purchase. A really big one. The list for this one purchase took me days to build, bigger than any wish list I’ve ever put together for a book fair. This means I’ve had to scramble to make another list for the weekend. I was thrilled and humbled by this most generous offer, and glad to do all the extra work it took to organize something like this. I’ve been able to add books to the list which we had deferred to next year’s library budget, dream books for guided reading sets, extra copies of popular books that never stay on the shelves, the latest award lists I’ve been saving for.

There’s something powerful in a community that works together to “get kids excited to read and keep them coming back for more,” to paraphrase our generous donor. That’s the community I serve. What an inspiration.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, classes, collaboration, inspirations, International Baccalaureate, reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaNo Day Twenty-two inspiration: Kids, books and generosity

  1. Pingback: NaNo Day 25 inspiration: a celebration of books | The Best of It

Leave a Reply

