NaNo Day Twenty Inspiration: Some Essays and Some Moss

NaNo Day Twenty Inspiration: Some Essays and Some Moss

Today’s photo is of a book of Ralph Waldo Emerson’s Essays. Now I just really want to stop writing to dip into this book, too, along with Kate’s volume of poems of Sir Walter Scott, though I don’t dare handle this copy overly much. This edition is published by Belford Clarke & Co, the “Household Edition.” It was Henry’s, inscribed with his name and with the date: Jan. 1, 1888. There are some ancient pieces of moss pressed between the pages, one where the inscription lies and others interspersed in what seems a random way throughout the rest of the book. There’s also a newspaper clipping with a poem of Emerson’s pasted inside the front cover. The stitching is separated in several places inside, as if some parts of the book saw much use. Where did it come from? Did it inspire Henry in some way? Emerson was an individualist. How does that fit with Henry’s views? It raises more questions for me than it answers, sometimes, to examine some of these artifacts. Those questions are the best kind. They keep me thinking, imagining, wondering. And writing.
Tomorrow: some historical research from our weekend jaunt.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NaNo Day Twenty Inspiration: Some Essays and Some Moss

  1. Steve weatherly says:

    Is this a rare book? I have this book.

  2. Steve weatherly says:

    Would you like this book?

    • vst3in says:

      Do you mean another copy of this same title/edition? I have this one with a relative’s name inscribed, so it’s of the most interest to me. Thank you, though !

  3. Steve Weaterly says:

    I have this book with W.C.Martin Nov, 13, 1886 & E.M.Taylor March 10, 1889 & S.W,J,Taylor July 1889 inscribed on inside. A copy of this website was printed and inside the book when I got it. Does it do anything for you???? Steve – I don’t belong to your group so please reply to wthrly@gmail.com.

  4. Floral images on front of this book is in keeping with the design of the time. very attractive. An art statement on the front of the book is always interesting as publishers believe that the front cover will be instrumental in selling the book.

Leave a Reply

