NaNo Day Fourteen Inspiration: Disconnecting

Today’s inspiration will be the last for a few days. I’m not writing ahead, as these posts make up my daily reflections, and are part of my current writing practice. Thinking about specific concepts focuses me on the job at hand.

I’m traveling tomorrow, to spend a weekend largely disconnected from internet and cell service, working with 35 or so college students and their leaders. A former student highly honored me with an invitation to talk about leadership at a service weekend with her Circle K International  club.

Saturday, we’ll spend the day working on service projects in Portland, OR. Then in the evening, I’ll share my talk with them, on leadership from the perspective of lessons learned in small boat sailing.

I’m pretty excited. I’m excited to work with a different age group than I’m accustomed to. I’m overdue for some time off line. I’ve been pretty connected lately. And I’m excited to share my story. I think my observations will help out along the way.

Up next, when I return: A photo of Kate.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

