NaNo Day Eleven Inspiration: Lest We Forget

NaNo Day Eleven Inspiration: Lest We Forget

Today is Veterans Day, 2013. In 1917, Kate was in Washington D.C., translating German documents for the War Department. She was patriotic, that much is clear.
One of my favorite photos, one of Kate standing on the walkway between two War Department buildings, eludes me today, but this piece, from a later war, is a fitting reminder of those who served.
I have more research to do about this V-Mail letter sent to Kate. The soldier’s name, Pvt. Edwin Nussbaumer, is blurred here in the photo, my apologies. It seems vaguely familiar to me, though, as if I’ve run across it elsewhere in the photos and papers of Kate’s. I look forward to finding out more, and today, I’m remembering.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

