NaNo Day Six Inspiration: The Scale

NaNo Day Six Inspiration: The Scale

The egg scale was designed so that small chicken growers like Kate could grade, or sort, their eggs for sale. We buy different sizes of eggs today, too, but I don’t get to check how they measure up to their grades on this. A modern egg is far too large to weigh on Kate’s egg scale. I love to picture Kate in my mind, cleaning the eggs by sprinkling each small gem with cleaning powder (have to learn more about what was in that), brushing it down with a coarse brush, and wiping the surface to its natural dull glow. Then she would sort the eggs using the egg scale to grade them, storing them in wooden crates. More research is required to build accurate details into a scene I might write into the book, but I do know this much about egg scales. I also know I love looking at it and setting different round or egg-shaped items into its little tin cup. Tomorrow: a bit of jewelry.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

