Designing with Needle and Thread is a Lifetime Goal…….Guest Blogger – Barbara Gilbert

How have I not been following my tutor Gail’s blog all along? I’ve shared with you before, and will be posting more about her Center for Creative Arts another time, but for now, pause and enjoy. Today’s guest blogger is a former classmate of mine. I’ve walked alongside her on parts of this journey, and her work just keeps growing, deepening, moving to the core of what she observes. These are lovely pieces and they make my day.

Gail Harker Center for Creative Arts

Level 4 Stitch and Multi Media

From walks on rocky beaches to shells on sandy shores to sunsets over the waters, I have been exploring shoreline treasures for the past four years. The magnificent colours of sunsets have inspired much of my recent work. Learning to observe nature and to transfer the images and details of my photographs into fabric art has been a wonderful challenge in this course. I have tried to create the textures -both visual and tactile- of shells and seaweeds in my embroideries. Translating my designs with needle and thread is a lifetime goal. The excitement of learning new techniques and trying new fibres and fabrics to create unique pieces of textile art has been a wonderful adventure for me.
Barbara Gilbert……………………………………….

View original post

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

