Library Love by Mike Hays

This is a very powerful post about the importance of libraries. It moved me in two seemingly separate ways as I read it over breakfast.
1. I’m inspired to reread one of my favorite children’s books about libraries. It’s called The Library, and it’s by Sarah Stewart. You can find it here, http://www.indiebound.org/book/9780312384548 , or at your local library, perhaps. I found it in my own school library.

2. It gives me a road map as our school works to study who we are redefine how we’re going to get where we want to be in this world. Thanks, Coach. Thanks.

Nerdy Book Club

Don’t you just love libraries? I know, dumb question for the Nerdy Book Club nation, but don’t you? I am a fan of the library, especially my local library, the Clay Center (KS) Carnegie Library.

coach hays photo

I fondly remember my branch library in my childhood hometown of Kansas City, Kansas. I remember the smell, the quiet, and the not being able to fathom how many books there must be in the world if we could have this many books in our little library. I was fascinated by the old-school checkout card machine where the librarian would masterfully align and feed the three cards into a slot and the due date was printed on each card. The card stack exited from another slot and the librarian would insert them into the books. It was magic. I was happy I came from a big family so I could watch the librarian run the…

View original post 1,244 more words

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

