ALA Midwinter: A Small Fish in a Very Big Sea

Small fish in a big sea

Small fish in a big sea

I spent this past weekend at the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting. It was my first ALA meeting and I went there feeling unsure of my place in the vast array of authors, publishing, initiatives and advocacy groups.

I went, though, with just a few goals, ready and open and determined to experience whatever came my way in this new adventure. Boy, howdy.

Vigorous discussion, including the Genre vs Dewey panel first thing Saturday morning. That got us thinking, talking, sharing (some yelling).

Book people were everywhere, and the books?? Crazy. I tried to restrain myself from filling my bag(s) too full. After all, I’m in physical therapy for a rotator cuff issue. I’m not done making the list of all the books I brought home. My husband’s complaints about the huge stacks in the living room are legitimate.

Just a few of my new books!

Just a few of my new books!

I lugged loads of them around with me each of the days. I loved it, loved knowing I could crack open my bag at anytime and there – there would be a new book! Delightful.

I struck up conversations with perfect strangers in line and exchanged cards with them. I went out to dinner with people I’d only ever met on Twitter. And I was right about them already – they are really nice people.

I heard inspirational stories, I got excited and cheered aloud about very special announcements. I brought home stacks and stacks of books, a new T-shirt, and something else.

I’m as big a fish as I want to be.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, collaboration, inspirations, reading, Uncategorized, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

