Hattie Ever After: Three Cheers for Kirby Larson

Hattie Ever AfterHattie Ever After by Kirby Larson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Hattie Big Sky was a really amazing book, and I was sorry it was over when I read it some years ago. Recently I re-read it for a couple of different reasons; one was that it was recommended as a great example of plot and scene structure in historical fiction for middle grade readers. It certainly is. The other was that the new one was coming out soon, and for a girl who reads as many books for young people as I, I felt that I wanted to refresh my memory about Hattie and who she was before the next one came out. I am surely glad I did!

When I got the ARC for Hattie Ever After, I simply could not put it down. Larson’s latest is such a rich painting of a historical time I myself have been digging into. The scenes fairly burst with motion and I found myself very firmly planted in the time of the early 1900s. I met characters I could really believe in, too, no matter whether they were on Hattie’s side or no.

There is plenty of adventure for Hattie in this book, and plenty of heartbreak and betrayal, too. I love the connections to Seattle, since I live here, but most wonderful for me was the telling of the stories of women who finally stood up and lived their lives to their full potential in a time when most men were not at all interested in having them do so. Three cheers for Kirby Larson; you took Hattie on adventures none of us ever dreamed she’d find when we first read of her adventures out under the Big Sky.

View all my reviews

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, inspirations, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hattie Ever After: Three Cheers for Kirby Larson

  1. Kirby Larson says:

    Oh, this brought tears to my eyes. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  2. Pingback: Kirby Larson: A Visit I Hope to Make This Week | The Best of It

Leave a Reply

