WLMA 2012: Getting down to it

This is one of the things I was up to today. I got books for my library. This is precious shopping, penny pinching, getting the best I can get with what I have.

I must admit that I bought book socks, too… but those are just for me, because, well, they are really nifty.

I’m resting up for the last day of my first library conference ever; I’ll be reading book reviews tomorrow at our Puget Sound Council session. 

Something I have observed about this conference has struck me, somehow. The sense of sharing, of collaborating, was evident from the time I walked into a room and sat down with other people. We were ready.

We were, we are, ready to help, to share, to argue, to defend. I have to say that I haven’t had that experience at most other conferences. Usually I get in this fog of over-info-blast and I wander from one place to the next in a daze. Or I am burning with a great idea, and I realize that I’m all alone.

Not here. No matter what table, what room, what hallway, the mood is different. Open faces, open books, open conversations.

I like it when people want to help. To make a difference. To get busy and get down to it. Makes me feel right at home.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, collaboration, inspirations, reading, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

