Teachers Write! A Surprising Character Exploration

Here’s where I start to share pieces of writing which are in addition to my blogging words.

I read Jo Knowles‘ post on Monday and wrote to her prompt as one of my Teachers Write pieces this week. Always a little off the calendar of assignments, I didn’t complete the other assignments (yet); the second half of this assignment is in process. I so deeply appreciate Jo’s sharing about this special friend of hers. Mine is a description of my mother, who would have been 89 this Friday, but left us just after her 60th birthday.

It’s been half my life since
you went, in the early morning quiet

Fiery crashing heat lightning
the night you died lit
the sky and we all knew
it was you
finally able to dance

You were celebratinig
with the angels up there
free and fiesty

You had
so much spark
sometimes  hot and
vindictive,  made us
feel small but
then again, your
passion for
reaching out could be
boundless

I think of you now
as tiny, since you were,
at the end
but I remember you HUGE
on the inside

I remember your hug
that made everything all right
when my first
cherry pie hit the floor,
facedown,
shattered

You enveloped me in
an unassailable wall of goodness
and warmth
and pointed out
the perfection of this crust
if that was how it broke apart

You took my hand
to cross the street
when I was twelve and I
started to pull away;
I don’t need help to cross
I said, all high and mighty
and humbled when
you suggested YOU might

You taught me your craft, bread,
by telling, having me tell,
making me do,
and I am a Lady now,
baker of the bread

You taught me your craft, weaving,
from your bed, piece
by piece description,
you told me, had me
tell and do, and
I am a teacher now
too

You let me into your pain
because I asked you to

I’m older now than you were then,
left without you
all these years

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in classes, inspirations, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Teachers Write! A Surprising Character Exploration

  1. This made me cry – it’s beautiful. I think my favorite line is about the heat lightning: “You were finally able to dance.”

  2. vst3in says:

    Thanks, Kate. High praise indeed! Jo’s made ME cry, and inspired a place in me to open. Everyone who knew Mom gloried in that violent night of heat lightning, which lit the county. The delightful surprise for me was that we weren’t alone in expressing the very same thing. My first book is about her journey, but all the words in it are from that side of loss, not from the now that is remembering.

  3. valgal626 says:

    I’m crying too! Wow.

Leave a Reply

