#Teachers Write and What Happened this morning

It’s late, and I’m tired, so linking stuff feels beyond me. But last night I wrote down my homework and got myself ready to participate in a summer of writing with a bunch of other folks. Search #TeachersWrite on Twitter. Search Kate Messner on the Web. I trust you. You’ll find it. Write to prompts, share with others, see what happens.

It already happened, with Monday Morning Warmup, a prompt provided by Jo Knowles. Search for her, too. I trust you. You’ll find it. Cause I’ve got to get this posted and go to bed.

My second book, written after work and between other life stuff over the past couple of years, is currently being edited. My first book was a memoir. This one is middle grade historical fiction. So very different an adventure!! The latest thing my editor and readers indicated is that that the world around my characters needs to be populated in  some places, that they are living in isolation and so don’t seem as real as they could.

Then, this morning, I started describing a childhood kitchen, as instructed by Jo Knowles’ prompt. I opened the notebook, picked up the pen, and was so sad to have to stop and leave for work, 4-1/2 pages later, writing madly, ideas flowing, descriptive language leaping onto the page. It makes me feel as if I can give life to those vacant spots, to bring the world of my characters alive for my young readers in the way that I’ve dreamed.

See? It’s already working. I’ve another 4 days with kids at school, so the next few days are crazy, but I have faith that this momentum will continue. I AM excited. I AM inspired. And I’m thankful for those folks who share their passion and skill with others.
Thanks, Kate. And thanks to all the friends you’ve gathered to help us.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in classes, collaboration, inspirations, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #Teachers Write and What Happened this morning

  1. I love that you were writing madly! It sounds like you are on your way. I am happy that we get to share each other’s journeys.

    I was scared of the kitchen assignment because only negative memories came initially. Maybe I will need to go with that even though it might be tough. I did Tuesdays assignment today to avoid the kitchen, but I will have to deal with it at some point.

  2. Wow, this is very, very wonderful for you. So happy you had a breakthrough in your challenge for your book. Hurrah for camp! See you on twitter, which is where I saw this!

Leave a Reply

