The Gingerbread Adventure, Part Five

Soft Sugar Gingerbread
2 eggs 3 teaspoons baking powder
1 cup sugar ½ teaspoon salt
1-¾ cups flour 1-½ teaspoons ginger
⅔ cup thin cream

Beat eggs until light, and add sugar gradually. Mix and sift dry ingredients, and add alternately with cream to first mixture. Turn into a buttered cake pan, and bake thirty minutes in a moderate oven.

Notes on the process and the product:
Firs time a “cake pan” has been called for, so I used a round 8-9” cake pan. Used half and half for “thin cream.”
This batter was thick and creamy, and so pale after all those dark fragrant breads. This is the first to use white sugar. I hoped it would taste of ginger in the bakign, as no hint of ginger came to me in the mixing.
Baking time was 40  minutes.
Light, dense, and cakey, almost a lemon taste, and resembling pound cake, but though some ginger taste, there’s nothing to make it feel much like a traditional gingerbread to the tasters, which this time included my fourth grade students. As yellow cake, it’s nice.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

