The Gingerbread Adventure, Part Four

…but first, an apology. I think I got carried away on creating Recipe #3, the Soft Gingerbread, with the beauty of the steps of the process. The swirls of dark molasses hugging swirls of glistening butter, the amazing puffing of the brown foam when the leavening hit the other ingredients, were so exciting, and so filled with art. Consequently I artfully interspersed the photos of the process throughout the recipe, as each spoke to me as illustration of a particular part of the adventure. This morning, as I prepared to dive into Recipe #5 (post one, cook the next – that is my motto), I realized what pain in the neck that is, to have pictures in the way of following the directions. When a person follows a recipe, the words should all be together. On one page only. Sorry about that. No photos in this recipe at all, and for the next recipe, I promise to control my “textural” impulses and put all the working words together.

Cambridge Gingerbread
⅓ cup butter 1-½ teaspoons soda
⅔ cup boiling water ½ teaspoon salt
1 cup molasses 1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 egg 1 teaspoon ginger
1-¾ cups flour ¼ teaspoon clove

Melt butter in water, add molasses, egg well beaten, and dry ingredients mixed and sifted. Bake in a buttered shallow pan.

Notes on the process, and the product:
This recipe is very bare-bones! No temperature, no time given, so I did it just like the others with similar ingredients and pan size, in a moderate (350F) oven, 30 minutes to start. It took 40 minutes to get done.
This batter is much lighter-colored and somewhat sticky.
In baking, it has puffed more than the others and cracked as well.
This one has lots of flavor, but it’s more cakey, and not as rich-tasting. Lovely, tough crust, with a bit drier crumb. Not the favorite among my faithful tasters.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, inspirations, reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

