Really? I didn’t title this? A State of Wonder: a review

State of WonderState of Wonder by Ann Patchett

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Patchett has a way of taking one inside her characters. Cleanly drawn, finely tuned, they are there, whole and unapologetic with their gifts and their flaws. This is the fourth of Patchett’s books I’ve read, and with each one, I have come to love her writing style more. The unthinkable, the unbelievable, became for me possible in this work, which took me quite awhile to finish. The challenge of pausing to digest language like this, the beauty of it, is that there is always a danger of losing the thread of the story. Plot was so powerful that this was no problem. It was moving to the very last word. Read it. Share it. Pause over it.

View all my reviews

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, inspirations, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

