The Hare in the Elephant’s Trunk: a review

A Hare in the Elephant's TrunkA Hare in the Elephant’s Trunk by Jan Coates

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ve read many middle grade books about the Lost Boys of Sudan, looking for just that book which would appeal to just the right student, one who needs a challenge to his or her thinking, a deeper set of ideas to explore. This is the first one of those I’ve read which acknowledges the intelligence of young readers, which exposes them to hard ideas without sugar coating or stepping away for reality. I’ve put it in my school library and look forward to sharing it with students.

View all my reviews

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

