Sounds of Inspiration: weekend morning musings

Often what inspires me are color and texture. My eyes and my fingers are full of these experiences, each with its own story to tell. This morning, every sound which hit my ears gave me joy, sweet and uncomplicated. It was delightful to follow each to its source, and then to its conclusion. A sense of deep satisfaction comes when I think in this way, when I set out to be inspired, no matter what’s on offer around me. It’s as if I’ve been handed a gift when I free myself to stop; to pay attention.

The hiss and tiny, crackling breath of compost and worms working in the bin in the warm sun…

Man and dog feet on the stairs…

Snap of mushrooms as they break under the knife…

Sizzle of onions, sautéing slowly in the pan…

Jingle of dog tags outside playing as peppers roast on the grill…

Crack and papery whisper of garlic skins beneath the blade…

Beatles loud on the radio…

Crinkle of the paper bag as it gives up its treasure of blackened peppers…

As I write, I wonder if I think in textures, too. I have discovered in this exploration that each sound has a feel. I associate  with it a color, a pattern, a physical description of heft, of movement, or of life. To isolate one sense from another is a very interesting exercise, difficult in a way. It gives me joy, though, sweet and uncomplicated.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

