Races

Racing is inspiration, too. It gives me a concrete goal to reach for in my fitness life. I have a long-term goal, the one that is all about being strong and fit and feeling good. That is ongoing, and is something I strive for whether there is time or not. It revolves around eating well and moving lots. I make time, I carve it out; I’m stubborn about it and do make it happen most of the time. I am committed to it because the results of being committed are palpable. When it doesn’t happen, I don’t beat myself up about it. I know I just have to lace up and hit the road again.

Race calendar since I started this adventure in the spring of 2009:
Girls on the Run 5K, June 2009~ about 39:00 finish time

Seattle Half Marathon, November, 2009~ (dns – Swine Flu) Trained up to 9 miles. Good lessons learned. Pain comes in many forms.
Run for Clean Water 6K, April 18, 2010~3rd place in age category (SHOCK and AWE!)~ 40:19

Run of the Mill 5K, July 10, 2010~36:42

Iron Girl 10K, September 12, 2010 (in honor of Keira, one of my young students recently diagnosed with leukemia)~Personal best 1:15:03

UW Husky Dawg Dash, October 24, 2010~Personal best 1:11:46

What’s  next? I haven’t decided. Run for Clean Water is a good cause and a great course (though I see the venue will be under construction). I could work toward bettering my time there… last year it was what I aimed for after the pain of training for the Half, getting sick, reacting to medication so that I couldn’t hit the road for more than a month.

Having short term goals like races helps give me a program to work on, something in the near distance to shoot for. If you have a favorite local (Seattle area) race to suggest, I am game.  If there is a good cause attached, that’s a bonus. 10K is the perfect distance, though I am thinking (maybe) a bit larger this summer. Dare I say triathlon sprint? Still not sure about this, as I haven’t been swimming in a good long while…

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations, running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

