Running

Why running? When hubby and I started working out together in early spring of 2009, I could walk and run in combination for about a mile and a half… but I really wanted to make a change from the stuck place I felt. So, I began. Run/walk, run/walk. Soon – very soon, stopping to walk was not an essential anymore. I always gave myself permission to stop, if necessary. My feet? They HURT. After a run, they would just throb. I’d strip off the shoes and just – sit, feet propped in front of me…. Run, run. Run, run. Then, a change happened;  the hurting eased, the well-being began to seep in…

A friend suggested a 5K. That would be a couple of months away – surely I could work up to 3 miles in a couple of months? But I worried, sure I wouldn’t be able to go the distance. Run, run. Run, run. Then, a change happened… I was worried I wouldn’t be able to go the whole distance….at a run! So, I began. I continued.  2 years later, this is where I belong, running and strong and balanced. This year’s goal? 1000+ miles in 2011. I have plenty of support and lots of motivation.

It’s still early. Wanna join me? There is a little Dailymile widget at the bottom of the site. Click it to find me there and see my mileage counter. You can get your own, too.

Finish line

Run of the Mill 5K, July, 2010: third race on my slate

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

