Self-expression and understanding

Felt classes and my pincushion business became  pretty much non-existent over the past two years with the change in the economy. I know this affected my quilt shop clients very  deeply. This made a radical difference in my approach to my artwork.

Sometimes a person is inspired to make a change. Sometimes life is just – too busy. Somehow the blog, near and dear to my heart even though not well – kept up, got lost in the shuffle of my everyday life, of the other changes in my fiber life which were occurring, and yet, life went on…. Back to playing with the blog. It will look different as I play, and maybe it will get more interesting and lively, too…

So what has everyday life held for me lately? Much, to be sure. There is feltmaking, which happens outside my fulltime work schedule. My design work has taken on new depth and dimension as I explore the textures of crumbling stonework and structure, looking at what lies beneath the surface as aging and pitting occur. Explorations are not only in fiber but in pencil and paint and handmade paper. Here’s a sketchbooks example.

sketchbook play

mixed media in the sketchbook

There is training, which includes running, walking, hitting the exercise cycle, treadmill, weight machine… several days a week, I hit my workout plan…

Then there is writing. Doing a fair amount of that lately. Did I mention the book I published about a year ago? Wow. What a trip!!

First signing

My first book reading and signing

For now, I don’t have much to say that is profound. I’ve learned in the last year or so that life is more precious than we realize, and that self-expression is one key to understanding the world around us, and for now, that is enough.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

