Soon, soon! And other cool stuff…

Oh, I am woefully behind on posting and keeping up with you, my  inspirational students! I just found the Patterning Worksheet for  Level 1class, which I will send you sometime this weekend – it was hiding on that defunct machine, so has been rescued and resurrected.  When that is ready, I will also take the time to post pictures. I hope to use a new format for those with our new capabilities that will make for easier viewing here… It’s exciting to hear from all of you that you are working on homework and enjoying exploring all things felt-worthy.

Visit this link http://diterlizzi.com/blog/category/news/ to an author’s blog – he is one of my library kids’ favorites, co-author/illustrator of the Spiderwick Chronicles, a series of fantasy books for elementary students.  One of the women on my email list of feltmakers, Andrea Graham, made a felt version of one of the characters from the books and sent him photos, which are on his blog. Lovely work. I am still not a huge fan of doll work for my own personal taste, but hers is stellar, and she commands my respect as a committed and principled artist and teacher. Check her out.

She can be found at:

Andrea Graham-Feltmaker
Felted Art-  www.andrea-graham.com
Waldorf Education Resources- www.acornsjourney.com

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in classes, fleece, inspirations. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soon, soon! And other cool stuff…

  1. Mary says:

    Hi Valerie!

    I figured out how to make a felt ball with a jingle bell that jingles!! Just go to the store and buy the inexpensive cat toys (a plastic ball kind of like a whiffle ball with a bell inside) They’re about the size of a ping-pong ball and the plastic ball on the outside keeps the bell free from the felt. I found some at Wal-mart for under $2.00.
    I got my pouch done, or mostly done. When the little ball and cording get dry, I can attach them to the finished pouch as a closure, and then truly call it done.

  2. vst3in says:

    How very cool! There are so many ways to play with this medium, and I am thrilled that you are finding the excitement!

Leave a Reply

