Felt Galore

Just back last week from a teaching trip which took our family to Hawaii, and then 5 days in Oak Harbor, Washington to teach there.

Feltmaking in Hawaii? Amazing – the passion is alive and well there, and I see that my focus may change over the next few years as far as how I approach the way I promote this artform.

Photos will be posted soon, from both Hawaii and the class in Oak Harbor – which was really wonderful, and almost as hot!

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in classes, fleece, inspirations. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Felt Galore

  1. Marie says:

    After attending Valerie’s class at Gail Harker’s studio, I found that wet felting is much easier than I remember. I really appreciated the techniques, and particularly the emphasis on hot water and soap being the key to wet felting.

  2. Mary says:

    HI, Just wanted to let you know I posted a short blog entry on the class. You can see it at:
    http://rockhoppersdailygrind.blogspot.com/
    I also linked to your blog. who knows, you may get some extra traffic…

  3. Susan Frost says:

    Since our course in Oak Harbour, I have been collecting library books on flet-making. Two of interest, which I do not recall seeing in Valerie’s collection are “Simply Felt” (Docherty and Emerson), and “Uniquely Felt” (White). These both had an alternate technique for using a resist to make a vessel – the main difference being to wet the first layer prior to adding the second, which might make it easier (?) to get the seam areas even. I will attempt it when I create my vessel for the felt balls (which Barbara and I made today!)
    I was amazed at the different sheep breed listed in ‘Sheep 101’. Am looking forward to seeing your photos from the class.

  4. vst3in says:

    It’s so great to see you all coming to visit the site, and exploring the world of feltmaking more fully upon your arrival home. As Susan pointed out from her researches, there are many approaches to be found to technique, and looking for alternatives in books and online is a great way to expand your experience and tailor it to your needs. I learned the “dry on dry” layer approach with resists and was told that the layers would not adhere as well if put together wet, but I find that’s not quite so, and am glad that Susan, who made such a wonderful vessel in class, is trying to refine her mthods on the next one.

    Sorry not to have photos up yet… a virus on the old computer just before we set up the new computer made for some adventures we did not to have in the computing world over the past few days, but all is well, just no photos yet!!

    Chris White’s book is indeed lovely, and I need to get that one too.

    I have to say that I was very pleased with the depth of work produced in the class, and look forwar to seeing what you produce at home.

  5. Mary says:

    I’ve been busy with ‘homework’. Last week a friend came over and we made felt together. That was fun.
    I’ve been giving a lot of thought to what kind of pouch/vessel to make to hold the felt balls I have made. ( Now that the balls are finished, I know how big it has to be!)
    I’ve had a lot of fun exploring different web sites on sheep, llamas, alpacas, and felt making.
    I’ll have to look into those felt making books. I haven’t added many to my collection as yet. I find that I read a lot online. I found this website with a demo on making a felt rug. http://www.festivefibers.com/ You might find it interesting.

  6. Barbara says:

    I liked browsing throught the Felter’s network calendar – I would love to be able to go to some of the classes around the world!
    Sheeep 101 is a great reference. I added the herdwick breed info to my notebook to go with the sample I made.
    There is a new shop opening here, in Victoria, that is going to carry supplies for felting (and spinning and knitting). It is called “Knotty by Nature Fibres” and will open sometime in late October. It will be very tempting to have supplies so close to home.
    Susan and I are making our containers tomorrow.

  7. Barbara says:

    Susan and I made our felted continers this past weekend. We used a slightly different method in that when we laid out the layers of wool, each layer overhung the pattern slightly and waa then folded around the resist, before flipping the resist over and laying another layer of wool of the opposite side – with slight overhang that was folded back. You laid out both sides at the same time, alternating front to back. There was then no worry that the “seam” was going to be weak. And as we made the wisps overhanging very thin, the edges did not build up too much. It was a bit difficult to get my “decorations” to stick on both sides (ie, around the seam), but I just have to nedlefelt two wee sections to get them to stick! Now I need to make my handles.

  8. Vickie says:

    I am a new and enthusiastic felter in Hawaii. I read that you held a workshop here. How can I find other felters?

    Aloha

    • vst3in says:

      Hi, Vickie,
      I taught for Carol Kuniyoshi at the Calico Cat, which is a quilt shop near Koko Head in Honolulu. One of her assistants, Daphne, was quite taken with feltmaking and has since taught the mini-workshops I did again there at the shop. You could try there, tell them I sent you.

      I was surprised at the huge response, but didn’t meet any other feltmakers who were already doing it seriously. If you find info want to pursue more, I am excited about the possibility of collaboration to teach more there, since I already have Carol as a contact.

      What island are you on? I didn’t find any contacts for felters on Kauai, which is where we also spent a little time. Any fiber guild – even the embroiderers or quilters guilds there – might be a good place to start. I hope this is helpful. Valerie

  9. Vickie says:

    Thanks for the contact names Valerie. I live on Maui and really don’t know any other serious felters. I do however belong to a vibrant art quilting group with some amazing quilt artists. There is also the Maui Quilting Guild which often brings over people if there is interest. I will share your site with my fellow art quilters.
    Aloha,
    Vickie

Leave a Reply

