Explorations in design work

I am getting ready for the next session of my design class starting this weekend – this is Session 3 with an amazing group of women. All are so talented in such different and inspiring ways.  I need to get busy with my work but want to post some of the ideas I have gotten from the types of play we’ve been doing; with watercolor pencil, oil pastel, acetate film, and one of my new favorite media : acrylic gel with fine pumice in it. Awesome stuff!  You can mix acrylic ink into it, as well as paints, and when it is dry on the paper, you can hit areas of it with chalk. YUM.

More on that later.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in collaboration, inspirations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Explorations in design work

  1. vst3in says:

    I know I am commenting on my own site, but I am inspired to say that in teh time since the last class, I have loved working Shiva Paint sticks! I have been amazingly busy at work, but can’t wait each week til I can sit down (apron ON, after the spot on a pair of pants) and play with the Shivas. Yes, they are messy, but I am enjoying the range of blending and color movement I can get; the iridescents are lovely for reflected light.

    I can see many ways in which I can apply this medium to my design work.

Leave a Reply

