Updated March ’08 Hot Greece!

I have been revisiting our photos of Greece, using them for design inspiration.  Here are some of my favorites: This one at Delphi  is the Treasury of the Athenians. Here is my husband beside one of my favorite things – it’s just a chunk of Corinthian capital from a bit of column there at the Sanctuary Athenia Pronaia, but I am so inspired at the detail and beauty of the carving in it. Its  has figured in many a design exploration already! At one of our first stops, I was still dealing with jetlag. It afforded me the ability to see sunrise in Nafplio like this, capped by a beautiful Byzantine church dome. We visited many a fortress, but my favorite style of fortification is called the Bourtzi, a fortress built out into the water. There is just so much to tell, but I will share more as my designs grow and take shape.

methoni.jpgWe returned from two weeks in Greece two days ago. First impressions: mountains, mountains, stairs, stairs, slopes, slopes.  That is a vertical country, at least almost everywhere we visited.  I am working on getting on-line picture storage and will post some stuff there, since we took 1064 pictures!

Another impression, more sobering, was that of forest fire, which did impact our trip in a big way.  We complain about what’s wrong in our own country, but others have struggles too, and there are always new ways to cash in on the misfortune of others, we have found.

Good food, friendly people, lots of history; what we saw spanned from 8th century BC and before, to the 1500s – the ruins we visited, anyway. Astounding, the sheer amount of rock moved to create these massive fortifications.  And since my current studies have lots to do with light coming through rock spaces, I definitely got lots of inspiration there!

 Maybe we’ll visit someplace next which is part of our own heritage, but this trip really expanded my world view. Toilet and shower experiences were very different in this country, and it’s interesting what part water plays in other areas of daily life as well. More on that later.

Photos soon!

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

