Beginning Techniques in Feltmaking

p1090513.jpgp1090511-copy_edited.jpgp1090509-copy_edited.jpgmore student workstudent workFeltmaking class to begin in just a couple of days at Gail Harker’s Creative Studies Center. What a great thing that 10 years ago I started studying there,and I will teach there soon!  I look forward to sharing with the students all the excitement and enthusiasm I have for this medium, and to passing on some of that delight. I will be posting more about the experience afterward.

*And what a wonderful experience it was!  The felt which came from this class was phenomenal – there was not enough time for students to explore everything they desired, but what they did have time for was lovely. They have given me permission to post their images here, so that is the next task.  What were lessons learned? 

1: Watch the edges of the table when throwing felt: Ouch!

2: Clarity of color and a sense of play are key pieces of the feltmaking process.

3: Though there are not lots of rules which must be followed to create lovely felt, paying attention to essential aspects of the science makes the art better.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in classes, collaboration, inspirations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

