Pincushion

pincushion1.jpgIt has been 6 years since we bought the felted pincushion business from friends Helen and Tom.  It has been an interesting road, and I truly thought we would be growing the business by adding contacts. The truth is that we could hardly keep up this past year, and our number of clients remains relatively stable,and very few.  This never ceases to amaze me. When we started out, we were making about 500 pincushions a year to wholesale around the country.  That seemed a huge number, and we were starry-eyed with the big feeling of marketing our own product.  We are  just barely into 2007 and already at 350 – last year’s total was 1800 pincushions!  Where do they all go? I expected that the market would dry up, but I guess everyone has a friend who sews.  I will post photos when I figure out the best way to show the story.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in fleece. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pincushion

  1. Jessica says:

    Hi there,
    I’m looking for someone who could create a felted cupcake pincushion. I was wondering if that was something you could do or if you had any ideas where I might find something like that. I would need 500 or so.
    Thanks!

  2. Melodie says:

    did you ever hear from anyone on the felted cupcake pincushion? I’d be interested in working with you. melodie

  3. vst3in says:

    This is indeed something I have been playing with! Felted cupcakes, who would have thought? It’s wild how it keeps cropping up and things keep on happening from it – nothing concrete yet as far as business deals go, but man, what a blast! Even went with a friend to a bakery to look at (and buy, and eat) some yummy baked goods to see what they REALLY look like.

Leave a Reply

