Fabulous Fiber

SalmonFabulous Fiber

What is it about felt that is so great?  I was a weaver for 20 years before I fell in love with felt, and all the properties of wool yarn which I have loved on the loom I get under my hands when I work the fleece, and then some.  In addition to the feel, the give, the amazing properties of the fiber in a chemical/physical sense, felt is a medium which lends itself amazingly well to painterly techniques. I have always wished I could paint.  In felt, I can.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in fleece, inspirations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fabulous Fiber

  1. Meg says:

    What a beautiful website, pleasing to the eye, graceful and calm! Very thoughtful the transition from weaving to felting. As an educator it touches upon the concept of different learning styles, using the senses of touch, of site in different ways with each medium which reaches out to one person more than another. It also drifts through my thoughts the impression that felting to a textile or fiber artist must be similar to pottery making to a ceramic artist..getting your hands deep into the medium. moulding, kneading, reshaping, wetting, drying. Although I have had very little experience with felting, I stand in admiration of what a felter can produce and would love some day to dig my hands into the wool and try myself!

Leave a Reply

