Authoring Stories About Cultures Not Our Own by Katie Quirk – a re-blog of a great idea

Authoring Stories About Cultures Not Our Own by Katie Quirk.

I haven’t had a chance to read Katie’s book yet – Procured as an ARC at ALA midwinter, it spent the months between then and the end of the school year in the hands of 4th and 5th graders, who fought to be next on the list. They clamored for this one! Now, my battered copy is mine again to enjoy.
After reading Katie’s insightful article, I must read it – can’t wait – both her thoughts about writing the book and the responses of my students – move it to the top of my reading stack.  I love reading. What do you want to read next, and why?

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, birder, food preserver, and retired school library lady. I love colors and textures looking for them in the world around me. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I'm working to stay strong into my senior years, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations, reading, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Authoring Stories About Cultures Not Our Own by Katie Quirk – a re-blog of a great idea

  1. Katie Quirk says:

    I’m so delighted to learn that your students enjoyed A Girl Called Problem. I hope you do, too, and thanks for this post.

Leave a comment