Experimentation

There are so very many things I ought to be doing tonight, but I would rather search for flower ideas for the next feltmaking class… I am antsy and have the jitters. This happens when I am itching to play with new ideas.

I electronically filed my state business taxes (easy! I did nothing last year which made me money in my art life!!), so that hair-tearing activity is past for now… I put dinner away, so that job is done, and it was a rest day so I did not hop on bike or treadmill or hit the road tonight.

Now, I’m just restless, and feeling as if I want to gaze endlessly at flower photos. Buy a bouquet. Grab the sketchbook. All of these are great ideas!

Speaking of sketchbooks, here is my guest blogger post on Gail Harker’s blog from October. This whole series of sketchbook posts by Gail’s students and tutors is really informative and inspiring. I am proud and pleased to be a part of it.

All right, I suppose I should get back to the ideas at hand. Last night, I laid out some prefelt (commercially made), added some pieces of my own handmade layered prefelts, laid down some fleece, and now it’s time to add some warm soapy water and gently roll… That is not a job for tonight, however – I think sketchbook and flower books are on my horizon with that cup of tea… I’ll let you know how it turns out.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, birder, food preserver, and retired school library lady. I love colors and textures looking for them in the world around me. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I'm working to stay strong into my senior years, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in classes, collaboration, fleece, inspirations. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Experimentation

  1. steve says:

    have you looked at Irving Penn’s flower photos from the 70’s? Tulips, peonies, lilies, roses, many of them past their prime, fading or turning brownish; so, so beautiful.

    • vst3in says:

      Oh, you are so right!! Thanks, Steve! I am especially inspired by trumpet-shaped flowers right now – looking deep into the cup to find stamen and the amazing textures within is what is driving my explorations of the moment. Also love the drooping petals in his work, dripping with rich colors – the journey is well begun.

Leave a comment